Zinc Football Youth Tournament continued its flare as it successfully wrapped up its second zone –Rajsamand- at the Balkrishna Ground in Kankroli on January 22. The second zone saw a total of 16 teams going head to head in the presence of Chief Guest Mr Bhushan Yadav, Superitendent of Police, Rajsamand; Mr Rakesh Kumar, Additional District Magistrate; Mr Sushil Kumar, Sub-Divisional Magistrate; Mr Ghanshyam, President, District Football Association, Rajsamand; Mr Manoj Hada, Secretary, District Football Association, Rajsamand; Mr Chand Khan Pathan, District Sports Officer and other dignitaries from Hindustan Zinc Limited.

Rajsamand FC and UPS Lavana won the titles in the boys and girls category respectively to qualify for the State Championship to be held later at the fabled Zawar Stadium.

In Rajsamand, the winners battled through their respective categories with Rajsamand FC beating Orange County School 2-0 in the final. Neel and Vishal scored tournament-highest 5 goals each throughout the tournament.

In the Girls’ final, UPS Lavana defeated Star Club 3-0. UPS Lavana’s Bhuvna, Luxmi and Sanjana scored one goal each to register a dominant performance in the all-important final.

Speaking about the tournament, Sunil Duggal, Chief Executive Officer, Hindustan Zinc Limited said, “This tournament has been our collective dream since establishing the Zinc Football project and today, I am really happy to see these young children getting a platform to play where the best will be filtered out for further assessment. This is just the beginning and we intend on reaching more and more kids across Rajasthan.”